Closing Student Applications

Closing Student Applications

Overview

Instructors can view a list of students' running applications and can force close distracting applications on students' Windows or MacOS devices. This feature can help instructors keep students on task during class.

App closing is not supported on Chromebooks, it is only supported on Windows and MacOS devices. 

Using App Closing

To view and close student device applications, click on the View Actions button on the student thumbnail and select View Student Details.

Applications can only be viewed and closed per student.




A window will appear with a list of applications currently running on a student's device and a Live View of their device screen.



To close an application on the student's device, select the 'x' next to the application name to close it.


Closing applications might cause students to lose unsaved changes.

Some applications, like Microsoft Word, may prompt the student to save their work before closing. If the student does not save their work within a certain amount of time, the application will force close without saving.