When a class is started, the instructor has the ability to broadcast their screen to the student devices. The instructor can choose to share their entire screen with the class, only an application window or a specific browser tab.
This is a great way to demonstrate a lesson or present to students directly on their screens rather than on a projector or smart display in the front of the classroom.
Watch this quick video demonstration of how to use share screen in LanSchool Air:
Starting a Screen Share
Start a class.
Click the Share Screen button in the classroom toolbar. A window will appear asking what the instructor wants to share:
An entire screen
A single application window
A single browser tab
Select an option and click the Share button.
The instructor will be notified that their screen is currently being shared and a small preview window will appear in the lower right corner of the screen.
Any sound or other audio playing on the instructor's device will not be broadcast to students.
If the chat sidebar was open prior to enabling screen sharing, it will be minimized to ensure that any conversations are not shared accidentally. The chat sidebar can be re-opened anytime, even while sharing the screen.
What do students see?
As soon as sharing begins, a window will appear on all student devices in the class showing both the instructor's shared screen and the option to chat or raise hand.
Locking Students into Viewing Full Screen
Enabling Full Screen sharing when starting a broadcast is a great way to make sure the window is front and center on student devices.
By default, students can minimize or re-size the window where the instructor's screen is being displayed. To change this behavior and lock students into the broadcast, the instructor can enable Full Screen sharing.
While sharing, toggle the "Full Screen" option to the right to enable it
The window on the students' devices containing the broadcasted screen will enlarge to take up the entire screen. Students will be unable to resize or close the window, but will still be able to chat or raise hand.
Toggling the Full Screen option off will allow students to minimize or re-size the broadcast window again.
Stopping a Screen Share
While sharing their screen, the instructor can click the "Stop Sharing" button in the lower right corner of the screen to stop broadcasting to students.
On the student devices, the broadcast will stop and the window will be reduced to only the LanSchool chat dialog.
Share screen will be active for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes the share screen session will automatically end.
If an instructor needs more than 30 minutes, once their session automatically ends, they can re-share their screen.
Troubleshooting Share Screen
Possible Error Messages
During periods of high activity, you may see an error message that says "we are unable to start your screen share. Please retry and if the issue persists, contact support." If this occurs, please close the error message and try sharing your screen again after waiting 90 seconds. If the error message persists after several attempts, please contact the LanSchool Air Support Team.
Enable Screen Recording Permission on macOS 10.15+
If running macOS 10.15 (Catalina) or later, you may need to enable the Screen Recording permission for your browser.
On the instructor's Mac device, navigate to System Preferences
Select Security & Privacy
In the Screen Recording section, check the box next to Google Chrome (or whichever browser LanSchool Air is using).
Select "Quit Now" when prompted to close the browser and restart it.
Check your network firewall or content filter
LanSchool Air may require that your IT staff allow additional websites through your network's firewall, proxy, or content filter in order for Screen Share to work properly. Please share the following information with them: