Verifying an Organization

Verifying an Organization

Overview

By default, each new organization using LanSchool Air is marked as unverified.

We want everyone to try LanSchool Air, but we want to make sure no one uses monitoring technology inappropriately or in a way that harms others or invades their privacy. In order to do that, we must verify all new organizations using LanSchool Air.

Until your organization is verified, students will have the option to opt-in to management and monitoring or remain under the radar.





Getting Verified

Verification should happen quickly, but if there's a problem, a member of the LanSchool Air team will reach out to you. Once a Lenovo representative marks your organization as verified, LanSchool Air will stop displaying the unverified notification and students will no longer be able to opt-out of monitoring. 

If your organization has remained in the unverified state longer than you would like, visit https://info.lenovosoftware.com/verify-your-organization-lanschool-air to request that someone reach out to you for verification.



Using LanSchool Air While Unverified

Some organizations choose to remain unverified in order to give their students the option to opt-out of monitoring. 

While the organization is unverified, students will receive this prompt on their devices to Allow or Reject monitoring (see the screen shot below). This prompt will appear every time an instructor starts a class that has the student's device included in the roster.



Allowing Monitoring while Unverified

If the student selects "Allow", the instructor will be able to see their screen and manage the device with LanSchool Air. The student will see a persistent notification on their screen while class is in session.



If the student selects "Reject", the student will appear as Offline to the instructor in LanSchool Air. To re-prompt the student to Allow monitoring, the instructor can exit and restart the class session. Alternatively, students can right-click on the LanSchool Air icon on their device and select "Allow Monitoring".


As soon as your organization becomes verified, students will no longer have the option to reject monitoring. This update will happen automatically without any interaction from instructors or students.