Excluding Students from Class

Excluding Students from Class

Overview

If a student is absent from class or otherwise does not need to be monitored, an instructor can choose to exclude them from the class session.  Excluding a student will temporarily remove them from the classroom view and any commands issued to the class will not apply to them. Instructors can choose to reinclude a student at any time to bring them back into the class session.  Excluded students are not removed from the class roster.

Students that are in an active class will be automatically excluded from other instructors' classes to avoid being pulled out of class unintentionally. Other instructors can choose to reinclude the student to pull them out of the other instructor's class.  

Excluding a Student

Before or during class, an instructor can move student(s) they will not be monitoring into the Excluded from the current session group.



To move students into the excluded group, click on the actions icon on the student thumbnail and select Exclude.



The student(s) will then appear in the Excluded group.



Automatic Student Exclusion

When an instructor starts class, any students that are currently in another instructor's active class will automatically be excluded. This way, the other active class is not disrupted.  Instead, these students will appear in the excluded student group and will display the name of the other active class they are currently in.



If the students should be in the new class, the instructor can choose to re-include the student by selecting the plus sign next to their name or clicking the Include All button.  The student will join this class and appear as excluded in the previous class.

Including a Student

Whether a student was excluded by an instructor or automatically, instructors can re-include them and add them back to class by selecting the plus sign next to each student's name.  To quickly re-include all excluded students, instructors can select the Include All button.  Including a student will pull them out of any other active class they may currently be in.


    • Related Articles

    • Using the Class Toolbar

      The Class Toolbar is present on class screens. If a class has been entered but not started, the Class Toolbar shows a green START CLASS button. Active-class only functions (Push Website Blank Screen, and Limit Web) are disabled. Refer to the table ...
    • Creating and Managing Class Rosters Manually

      Overview Classes can be created manually, or they can be imported from Google Classroom or Clever. If you plan to import classes, the method to use depends on method the LanSchool Air site administrator selected. For more information, see: Syncing ...
    • Disabling Manual Class Creation

      Overview By default, teachers are able to manually create their classes. This is feature is more commonly used in organizations that do not use pre-configured class rosters from Clever, Google Classroom or CSV import. Teachers may also manually ...
    • Using Class Group View

      Overview Switching to Group View allows instructors to position student screens in a way aligns with how they manage the classroom. For example, an instructor might group students together that need to managed more closely. Another group might ...
    • Troubleshooting Offline Students

      Overview After clicking "Start Class", students that are using a device that has the LanSchool Air agent installed correctly will automatically appear as Online. Refer to Viewing Student Thumbnails to learn more about the different types of thumbnail ...
    • Popular Articles

    • Viewing Student Client Status

      Overview If a student device is appearing as offline, check the status of LanSchool Air client installed on the student's device to make sure it's provisioned and connected. To see the current status of the student client, open the LanSchool Air chat ...
    • Using Web Limiting

      Overview To block troublesome or distracting websites or limit students to a select few websites pertinent to the class, use the Web Limiting feature in LanSchool Air. There is currently no limit on the number of URLs that can be added to the block ...
    • Mass Deploying LanSchool Air for Chromebook Student

      This guide walks site administrators through the process of deploying the LanSchool Air app to students using Chromebooks and getting LanSchool Air ready for instructors to use. For information on installing the LanSchool Air app to Windows or Mac ...
    • Controlling Student Browser Tabs

      Overview Controlling browser tabs is currently supported for students using Chromebooks. Students on Windows or macOS devices will only display the most recently viewed website. In List View, you have added controls over tabs on a student's screen. ...
    • Using Blank Screen

      Overview LanSchool Air's customizable Blank Screen feature enables you to push a Blank Screen to your students' computers. When you enable Blank Screen, students are not able to view or listen to anything on their device until the Blank Screen is ...
    • Recent Articles

    • Closing Student Applications

      Overview Instructors can view a list of students' running applications and can force close distracting applications on students' Windows or MacOS devices. This feature can help instructors keep students on task during class. App closing is not ...
    • Excluding Students from Class

      Overview If a student is absent from class or otherwise does not need to be monitored, an instructor can choose to exclude them from the class session. Excluding a student will temporarily remove them from the classroom view and any commands issued ...
    • Enabling Two-Factor Authentication

      Early Access: To request this feature be enabled for your LanSchool Air organization, please contact the Customer Success team. Overview Site Admins can enable two-factor authentication for other site admins or teachers. This provides extra account ...
    • Scheduling Classes to Dismiss Automatically

      Overview Instructors can set their classes to automatically dismiss the student devices when the class ends.  When a class is started and restrictions are enabled for a group of students, those restrictions will remain in place until the feature is ...
    • Using Co-Teaching

      Overview Instructors can add other instructors to a class to be able to monitor and manage the class together. A co-teacher could be a classroom aid, a substitute, or an administrator. Co-teaching allows multiple instructors to all engage with the ...